Goodbye 2014 and Hello 2015!

It’s been awhile since I’ve written, but it’s not because my last 6 months have been awful. Some of those months haven’t been great, but overall, my 2014 kinda kicked ass. I saw my therapist on Monday for a year-end wrap up and I came out feeling so empowered. Here’s a quick overview of my year:

  • I did a lot of traveling:
    • Ireland, Paris, Austria, Germany (2x), Seattle, Chicago (2x), South Dakota
  • I got accepted to graduate school
    • Georgia Tech’s Master of Science in Economics program
  • I quit graduate school
    • Something I’m actually proud of! I realized 2 weeks in that it wasn’t for me right now, especially considering that it caused my OCD to flare up
    • My therapist and I have dubbed it “my successful failure,” and I’m really proud of how I’ve been able to talk about that failure
  • I lost my best friend (but she didn’t die)
    • We had an irreparable argument and I realized that sometimes, you have to cut the toxic people out of your lives like a tumor and I’m better for it now
  • I healed from years of resentment and anger
    • I learned how to process things, how to accept that sometimes people don’t change and how to let go of the negative feelings that have built up over the years
    • I cut out the toxic people and environments, set boundaries with loved ones so that our relationships are mutually beneficial and spent a lot of time solidifying my marriage and enjoying my husband
  • I bought a new car
    • For the first time ever, I went to the dealership, picked out the car I wanted and drove it off the lot! And I’m completely in LOVE with it!

I have big plans for 2015. I wanted to put them down somewhere to keep handy because I really want to accomplish these few things this year. Here are my goals for the coming new year:

  • Read 10 new books
    • Mostly travel-related novels (I have a list)
  • Travel alone
    • I’ve never been on a trip by myself and I feel like it’s something that I really need to do. I’ve worked so hard to get my OCD under control and I feel like this is something far outside my comfort zone that will continue to push me to deal with my OCD
  • Travel to a new continent
    • I’ve traveled quite a bit to Europe, but I really want to get to Asia, Africa or South America this year
  • Host a party
    • I’ve always wanted to throw a get-together with friends/coworkers where everyone has a good time. My OCD has always made me afraid of rejection or imperfection (which automatically equals failure)
  • Lose xlbs of weight
    • I don’t want to publish the exact number, but I have one in mind. After years of struggling with my weight and after a complete failure due to my attempt at graduate school (after some great success this summer), I’m ready to get back on track. It’s time I work as hard on my outside self as I have on my brain
  • And one “squishy” goal: Continue to fight, continue to heal, continue to grow…

So far, things are looking up! I rang in the new year with my awesome husband, great friends and a glass of pretty spectacular champagne. My life is pretty awesome and I’m really excited for what’s to come in 2015!

