Thank you, WordPress, for reminding me that today is the 1 year anniversary of when I started this blog! Wow, what a year it has been!

I’ve made so much incredible progress in the past year, that when I go back and read my first few posts, I’m actually stunned at how far I’ve come. I wanted to start this blog mostly as an outlet and as a recordkeeper. I wanted to document what I was going through so that I could look back, as I’ve done today, and track my progress. I also wanted to use this blog as a potential help for others. If someone stumbled upon my blog and found that I was going through the same thing they were and it helped them feel less alone in this struggle, well that was a victory. I don’t know how many people this has touched, if any, but I know that it’s helped me in getting through some of the ups and downs of my recovery process. 

I’m really proud of myself and the hard work I’ve put in, but I’m far from being done. Lately I’ve been working on how to better assimilate in normal life when before I was just removing myself from the situation. I’ve been working on my reactions to things, instead of stressing over why the other person couldn’t just change their behavior or approach. Over the last 18 months, my husband and I have made tremendous progress and we’ve gone from rock bottom to being whole again. At therapy lately, we’ve just been working on how to work together even better, and preparing for the big stresses that will ensue if/when I start school. (The application deadline was today so hopefully we’ll hear good news soon!) Like I said in my last post, my life feels like it’s on cruise control. I’ve been stressed at work, but I’m managing, and that is what’s most important.

I find it also fitting that my husband and I celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary this week as well. We went to work, skipped a night out and cooked dinner at home. I had been in South Carolina the day before and he was leaving the next morning for DC, so we just decided to keep it low key. Before my treatment, I would have made a big deal out of not going to dinner and I would have been anxious about having to spend a night alone in the house while he was gone. This time, I actually suggested staying home and when he called me the next night while he was away, I never even heard the phone ring I was so deep asleep.

My life is so different now and I can’t imagine ever going back to what I was before. I’m so thankful for the day that changed my life and the events that led up to me seeking treatment. I never imagined that this was life I could live and I’m thankful for the people in my life that have supported me through it all. Cheers! 🙂

