Day 23: What is your opinion on therapy? (It can be any type, some examples are: group therapy, talk therapy, social skills training, exposure therapy, ERPDBT,CBTACT,  marital counseling, and many more)

Therapy saved my life. I don’t mean that lightly – had I not started therapy, I would have pushed away every single important person in my life and ended up spending my life being miserable and unhappy. I see a psychologist every 2 weeks (thought, last week she told me that between now and December – which is what I’m scheduled through, she wants me to work on getting down to just 1 visit per month!!) We do both CBT and ERP. Absolutely, ERP is the #1 therapy for OCD. Being exposed to that which you fear and realizing that life isn’t just one big worst case scenario, helps you to realize how illogical and sometimes ridiculous your obsessions and compulsions are. Is ERP fun? Absolutely not. But it’s part of the healing process and it’s necessary. 

I think that any therapy that helps you make progress and work towards recovery is worth doing. Find what works for you and STICK WITH IT! 🙂

