Day 20: Where do you get your support?

I get my support mostly from my family, friends and coworkers. My husband is my biggest supporter – going to therapy with me, putting up with my sometimes illogical and annoying habits, and listening to all of my craziness. He is the best guy I know. My mom, dad, sister and brother-in-law are so patient and listen to what’s going on with me and try to understand and help. They try to understand something that is completely illogical and are my best cheerleaders. And my nephew….he may only be 2 years old but he’s one of the biggest motivations for me to get better. My extended family checks up on me and lets me know that they are thinking of me. My friends always make sure that there is at least one thing I can eat at their house, while encouraging me to try new foods. They coax me out of my comfort zone while knowing where to stop. Sometimes, it’s just the simple text message from a friend that lives 1200 miles away saying, “I’m thinking of you and I hope you’re doing okay.” I read blogs and I find a lot of comfort in knowing that I’m not alone. I have a fantastic therapist who I adore and who helps me improve with each visit. I have an incredibly supportive boss who lets me work my schedule around going to therapy, who never doubts my ability and who is caring and compassionate on my bad days. I get most of my support from the people I surround myself with – and if you’re not supportive or at least positive in your conversations with me, I don’t need you around. 

I am so lucky to have such an awesome support system – They are a huge part of my success.

