Day 21: Many people say stress triggers symptoms, do you agree or disagree?

Stress does trigger some of my symptoms, but it doesn’t trigger all of them. For example, when I’m stressed because I have a lot of work/events/classes/etc, I obsess over being perfect and not missing anything, failing to do my best, etc and I have the compulsion to have everything under control. I will plan my days down to the minute, color code my calendar, and have a breakdown if I run off schedule. But that type of stress doesn’t trigger my obsessions over safety. In fact, I tend to be so wrapped up in whatever else I’m stressed about that I frequently forget to double lock the car or check that the lights are off. My brain is so preoccupied with whatever I’m stressed about that it doesn’t even have the time to doubt, and therefore, doesn’t have time to obsess. However, you could argue that the stress over something is an obsession. Overall, I think that stress does trigger my OCD, just not all of it. And for that, I’m thankful.

