Day 19: Have you ever read a self-help book or a book related to psychology?  What is your opinion on them?  If you have read them do you have a favorite?

I read “The OCD Workbook” by Bruce Hyman and Cherry Pedrick. I bought this book off Amazon after a deal I made with my husband on New Year’s Eve 2012. I read the book and realized that I needed to see a therapist. I thought the book was great but I just felt like my issues were bigger than the book could handle. 

I’m also about halfway through “Brain Lock” by Jeffrey Schwartz on the recommendation of my therapist. I found it very slow and hard to keep interest, despite it’s premise being really great. It describes the issues with OCD in terms of a transmission. You get stuck in a certain gear and you have to learn to be able to move the gears yourself in order to “unstick” your brain. The book does repeat itself….A LOT, but I do feel like it’s a worthwhile book to read. 

I bought “The OCD Answer Book” by Patrick McGrath but I haven’t started reading it yet. I heard Dr. McGrath speak at the OCD conference this year in Atlanta and found him fascinating and brilliant. He is a wonderful speaker and I bought his book after sitting through 2 sessions with him. I look forward to reading it. 

I haven’t really read much, but that is mostly because I haven’t had the time. I hope to be able to read a little bit more this winter.

