Day 18:  What do you wish people would understand in regards to mental illness and/or mental health?

I wish that people would realize:
This is not easy
I can’t just “snap out of it”
My parents aren’t responsible for my OCD
My brain is wired differently – this is not a choice
I know that it’s illogical – you don’t have to tell me that
I’m not a child – you don’t have to treat me with kid gloves
I’m an adult with feelings – treat me with respect
The mentally ill are not violent
We are not “crazy”
We are not a danger to society
We do contribute to society – we aren’t lazy and faking it for attention
Trying to cause my anxiety and asking if it bothers me is not being concerned – it’s being rude and childish
Just because I have OCD doesn’t mean that I wash my hands 100x per day
OCD is a disorder – I’m not just a type A person
My husband is not “a saint” for being married to/putting up with me – that’s just rude and underestimates the love we have for each other
Your jokes about mental health, mental illness, OCD, “crazy people”, etc are NOT funny
Just because I graduated from Georgia Tech doesn’t mean that I “can’t possibly have a mental illness”
Playing games with me by rearranging my things to see if I notice are NOT funny – it’s incredibly rude

Lastly, treat us with respect. If you were in my shoes, you would want me to treat you the same way. 

